Green Mint Chocolate Chip Protein Smoothie

IMG_8808

If you are as obsessed with mint chocolate chip ice cream as much as I am, then you will love this green smoothie! Not only is it delicious, but you are also getting a serving of veggies šŸ™‚ The original recipe is from rachLmansfield, and I just tweaked it in order to make it more post-workout friendly.

Green smoothies in general are one of my favorite things to make and eat during any time of the day. I always try my best to have at least one daily because of the health benefits (especially if you pack a variety of greens into one). The original recipe calls for only spinach, but I boosted it with added dandelion greens. Even though the greens can be quite bitter, this recipe perfectly camouflages the taste! If you are weary about adding leafy greens to a smoothie, I always say spinach is a perfect smoothie add-in for beginners…it has a very mild flavor that can be easily masked.

Frozen bananas are my favorite for recipes like this because they help cancel out any bitterness from the greens, and they have a thick, creamy texture when blended. Avocado is another great ingredient that adds little flavor yet enhances the consistency.Ā Both are a power couple for any great smoothie base.

Now, when adding the mint extract, be very careful! I made the mistake of doing a heaping 1/4 teaspoon, which made it way to overpowering. I would start out with less because you can always add more.

Next is my favorite part…the chocolate (YUM). Feel free to use semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips like the original recipe, but I ended up using cocao nibs. They are muchhh better for you, yet they still give you the same chocolaty crunch. Surprisingly, I enjoy the bitterness of cocao nibs. The chocolate whey protein also supplements a more sweet chocolaty flavor.

I added the protein powder to the recipe because I came straight from the gym, but it is definitely not necessary! I am sure it would taste just as yummy without it. You don’t even have to use whey; you can use any protein powder you have on hand. If you want to make it vegan, use a plant based protein. Same with the almond milk; you can substitute it with regular milk if that’s what you have on hand.

IMG_8799

Above are all of the brands and foods I used when making this smoothie, but again feel free to use whatever you have at home. Have fun and make the recipe your own! Leave a comment with any recommendations or changes you end up making. There is always room for improvement.

Green MintĀ ChocolateĀ Chip Protein Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup packed spinach
  • 1/2 cup dandelion greens
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 almond milk (I used a coconut/almond milk blend, my personal fav)
  • 1/4 teaspoon mint extract (be careful! start with less and add more if needed)
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons cocao nibs or dark chocolate chips
  • 1 serving of chocolate protein powder

Directions

  1. Throw everything into a blender, and BOOM you’re done!
  2. Pour into your desired dish (glass, bowl, etc.) and have fun with presentation. Top with extra chocolate and/or even add mint leaves like I did.

IMG_8812

xoxo

natalie

Leave a comment